An Impossible God

An Impossible God

Frank Topping, Canterbury Press

Frank Topping follows the Franciscan 14 Stations of the Cross (not the more familiar 12 Stations).

Each Station is a narrative from a person who is closely concerned with that particular time in Jesus’ walk: from when he was condemned to death to the walk along the Via Dolorosa (as it is now called), to his time of resurrection.

It is followed by 7 Stations Beyond the Cross. These are mainly narratives to do with the disciples, male and female.

Each narrative is followed by a poem, prayer or meditation.

It is very moving and very evocative of the emotions the crucifixion, death and resurrection of Jesus caused, but also historically viable. The Station I found most moving was number 4: Jesus meets his mother; moving enough to bring tears to the eyes.

Frank Topping said, “The book is not so much an argument as a kind of devotional reverie.”

First written in 1985, the book was later adapted into a play and has been given countless ensemble adaptations in Great Britain.

It would be a wonderful book to use as an Easter Study or, with permission, a Passion play.

Lyn Housen


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Are you hosting an event in the Synod that will be of interest to Insights’ readers?

To add an event listing email us your event details. A full list of events can be found on our Events page.

Scroll to Top