Queen’s Birthday honours for Uniting Church members

The 2018 Queen’s Birthday honours list has been hailed as the most diverse and the first where women outnumbered men to receive honours. Along with this, a number of Uniting Church members also made the list.

In New South Wales and the ACT, the following Uniting Church members were recognised for their outstanding contribution to society in various roles.

Medal (OAM) in the General Division

The Reverend Marion Judith GLEDHILL
For service to the Uniting Church in Australia, and to social welfare. Eastwood Uniting Church. Deacon, Parramatta Nepean Presbytery.

Mr Edward Harris BRILL
For service to the community of Ebenezer. Service includes: Ebenezer – Pitt Town Uniting Church Parish Secretary, Parish Council, current. News Letter Editor, current Volunteer, guide and co-founder, Tearoom and Museum, current.

Mrs Susan Jane BRILL
For service to the community of Ebenezer. Service includes: Ebenezer – Pitt Town Uniting Churches: Manager, Church Shop, 2002-2018 and Treasurer, 1989-2018.

Mr Peter Milton ANDREWS
For service to the Uniting Church in Australia through a range of voluntary roles. Services includes: Chair, Assembly Finance, Audit and Risk Committee, since 2004. Co-Opted Member, Assembly Standing Committee, since 2002.  Member, NSW/ACT Synod Business Committee, since 2016. Chair, NSW/ACT Synod Governance, Nominations and Remuneration Committee, current. Chair, Exodus Foundation, 2011-2013. Chair, Lifeline Macarthur, 2003-2008.

 Mr Geoff BATKIN
CEO, Wesley Mission Queensland, former Director of Corporate Services for UnitingCare Burnside in NSW, Member, UnitingCare Australia Aged Care Network Committee. For significant service to the community through social and aged welfare organisations, and to the Uniting Church in Australia.

Member (AM) in the General Division

Mr John Lachlan CAMERON
For significant service to the community through a range of roles in the disability and the not-for-profit sectors, and to politics and public policy. St. John’s Uniting Church Wahroonga: Chairman, Parish Council, current.

Adjunct Professor David Charles GOLDNEY
For significant service to tertiary education in the field of environmental science, and to conservation through resource management committees. 50 Years Lay Preacher, Uniting Church of Australia, 2008.

Congratulations to all recipients.

To see the full honours list including Uniting Church honourees from other Synods click here.

4 thoughts on “Queen’s Birthday honours for Uniting Church members

  1. Daniel Mossfield

    Mrs Susan Jane BRILL, Ebenezer NSW 2756
    For service to the community of Ebenezer.
    Service includes:
    Ebenezer – Pitt Town Uniting Churches:
    Manager, Church Shop, 2002-2018 and Treasurer, 1989-2018.
    Co-founder and Coordinator, Tearoom and Museum, since circa 2002.
    Office Manager, Ebenezer Public School, New South Wales Department of Education, 1972-
    Co-Founder and long standing member, Ebenezer Art Show, (a school fundraising event that
    has continued for 40 years).
    Recipient, Paul Harris Fellow, Rotary Club of Windsor.
    Life Member, Ebenezer P&C Association.
    Executive Member, Richmond-Windsor View Club, for five years

  2. Stephen Nicholson

    Emeritus Professor Ross Cameron CHAMBERS, Port Macquarie NSW 2444
    For significant service to education through a range of senior academic roles, and to providing tertiary opportunities in regional areas.
    Service includes:
    Charles Sturt University:
    Professor Emeritus, current.
    Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic, 2002-2012.
    Dean, Faculty of Arts, 1992-2002.
    Head, School of Humanities and Social Sciences, 1990-1992.
    Head, Port Macquarie Campus, 2012-2015.
    Established School of Theology, 1995; sponsor for introduction of Islamic Studies, 2010. Lecturer, History of political and social thought, Riverina College of Advanced Education, 1979-1989.
    Established first University-based police education programs, 1992.
    Australian Centre for Christianity and Culture: Chair, 2002-2015.
    Co-Founder, 1998.
    Member, Advisory Council, TAFE NSW Riverina Institute, 2003-2012.
    Helped establish and develop, Australian Graduate School of Police Management, 1992- 2012.
    plus Member of various Synod bodies, including UTC

  3. Rev Dr William Ives

    Another member of Eastwood Uniting Church to receive an Honour this year in addition to the Revd. Marion Gledhill is MARGOT DOUST AM. In the main she was acknowledged for her work in Education through many years of Service to the Board of Dunmore Lang College at Macquarie University. Many of those years she was chairperson of the College Board.. This College was originally established through the Presbyterian Church in NSW, much leadership being given by Miss Dorothy Knox, one-time Principal of Presbyterian Ladies College, Pymble.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *