Australia Day 2014 Honours List

Australia Day 2014 Honours List

A message from the Governor‑General

Sunday 26 January 2014

The Governor-General, Her Excellency the Honourable Quentin Bryce AC CVO, Chancellor of the Order of Australia, has approved awards announced today in the Australia Day 2014 Honours List.

Included in these awards are 683 recipients of awards in the general division of the Order of Australia, recognising their diverse contributions and service to fellow citizens in Australia and internationally.

“I want to give my strong support to the awards made through the Australian Honours System’, Ms Bryce said. “They elevate the concept of giving to others. They heighten our respect for one another, and they encourage Australians to think about the responsibilities of citizenship in our democracy.”

“Awards in the Australian honours system represent the highest level of recognition accorded by our nation for outstanding achievement and service.  The Honours announced today recognise community values and celebrate what is important and unifying in Australian life”, she said.

Air Chief Marshal Angus Houston AC AFC (Ret’d), Chair of the Council of the Order, said “these awards recognise the diversity of service across all fields of endeavour.  They are public recognition of people who provide outstanding community service and whose achievements enhance national identity.  By their actions they demonstrate the qualities of positive role models. The recipients are not only worthy of respect but encourage emulation.  These awards also recognise the ‘quiet achievers’ in our midst. They are people who serve the community, but do not seek accolades”.

“All Australians are encouraged to nominate fellow citizens who have made outstanding contributions to the well-being of others for national recognition in the Honours List,” he said.

(We acknowledge there could be others also associated with church activities which are not as obvious and to them we also extend our sincerest congratulations)


(Those appointed)



Mr John Gilbert BROGDEN, Sydney NSW 2000

For significant service to the community through representational roles with social welfare organisations, particularly Lifeline, to the business and financial sectors, and to the Parliament of New South Wales.

Chairman, Lifeline Australia, since 2012; Director, since 2009; Patron, 2010-2012.


Mr Ian MARTIN, Greenwich NSW 2065

For significant service to the Wayside Chapel, to business, and to the community.

Chairman, Wayside Chapel Foundation and Wayside Chapel Parish Mission (Uniting Church), since 2005; Chairman, since 2005; Benefactor, and raised funds to restore financial viability and build new premises.





The Reverend Trevor Phillips BARRETT, 16/8-10 Casuarina Drive, Cherrybrook NSW 2126

For service to the community through roles within the adult education sector.

Founder/Organiser and teacher of computer skills, Leisure and Learning, Pennant Hills Uniting Church, since 1997. Minister, Uniting Church in Australia, 1954-1988.


Mr John Robert BARWICK, Manilla NSW 2346

For service to the community, particularly through the Uniting Church in Australia.

Current Secretary, Church Council, Manilla/Barraba Uniting Church; Elder; Lay Preacher;  Member, since 1954; (Methodist Church, 1954-1977; and Uniting Church, since 1977). Member, Kairos Prison Ministry Team, on four occasions since 2005.


Mrs Doreen Gladys CHERRY, Avalon Beach NSW 2107

For service to the community of the North Shore.

Supporter, Kaddy Transport, Uniting Care, Uniting Church, Dee Why, from 1982.


Mrs Temple Beverley CORNISH, 10 Eungella Place, Orange NSW 2800

For service to the Uniting Church in Australia, and to the community of Orange.

Director, United Protestant Association of New South Wales, since 2005; current Member, Projects Approval Committee and Planning Committee; Life Member. Uniting Church in Australia Orange Parish Volunteer Co-ordinator, Parish Centre; Elder; volunteer. Secretary, Five Ways Congregation; Elder.


Mr James Edmund DAVERN, Mosman NSW 2088

For service to television as a writer, director and producer.

Supporter, The Ted Noff’s Foundation, Bill Crew’s Exodus Foundation, and ‘Youth Off the Streets’.


Dr Romney Adair NEWMAN, Carmona Drive, Forster NSW 2428

For service to medicine as a physician, and to the community.

A range of roles including Lay Preacher, Mentor, Elder and Parish Council Member, Taree Uniting Church, for many years.


Mrs Gwen PARKER, 25 Pitt Street, Glen Innes NSW 2370

For service to the community of Glen Innes.

Member, Uniting Church of Australia. Volunteer/Committee Member, Glen Innes Karinya Association Inc, since 1975; Honorary Treasurer, since 1988.


Pastor Grahame Edward PRICTER, 17 Lemana Place, Kahibah NSW 2290

For service to the Scouting movement, and to the Uniting Church.

Member, Church Council, Charlestown Uniting Church, since 1997; Church Elder, for 20 years; Lay Preacher, for 16 years; Member, since 1976. Pastor, Brunkerville Church, since 2011.


Mr Michael Harvey SMEE, 22 Bishopgate Street, Camperdown NSW 2050

For service to education, and to the community.

Headmaster, Newington College, Sydney, 1993-2003.

(Newington College is an independent, Uniting Church, day and boarding school for boys)


Mrs Margaret Patricia SNODGRASS, Willoughby NSW 2068

For service to the community of Willoughby.

Benefactor, Willoughby Uniting Church; organiser of regular social events for the elderly, and donated funds for memorial church windows.


Mr Raymond WHITING, Gerringong NSW 2534

For service to the community of Gerringong.

Head Warden, Gerringong Uniting Church. Visiting Welfare Officer, Mayflower Retirement Village, UnitingCare Australia.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.



Are you hosting an event in the Synod that will be of interest to Insights’ readers?

To add an event listing email us your event details. A full list of events can be found on our Events page.

Scroll to Top