The Gospel of Luke: “We had hoped…”

The Gospel of Luke: “We had hoped…”

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
19 Oct 2021 until 9 Nov 2021
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Location

Category(ies)


More Details:

Luke tells the story of the Messiah, son of Mary. The story is warmly Jewish, not surprising since Jewish lineage is traced by the mother’s line, and Mary is warmly Jewish, a kinswoman to her auntie, Elizabeth, who is married to a priest.

This is the story of the family that waited for the world to be turned right-side-up. This is also the story of an experimental community, Jews and Gentiles together, that was shaken to its roots by Roman brutality.

The story is haunted by memories of the Temple, memories of the hopes that attended the birth of Messiah, memories of the community that lost its Jewish centre of gravity when Romekilled perhaps a million of Jesus’ family members.

In this 4-session workshop, we will explore the gospel of Luke, a story that remembers what “we had hoped” (Lk 24:21) would finally happen.

Pam Faro, a professional storyteller who has performed and taught around the globe, will tell key parts of Luke’s story, and Richard Swanson, the director of the Provoking the Gospel Storytelling Project, will guide our exploration of Pam’s performances.

4 Tuesdays – Oct. 19 & 26, Nov. 2 & 9, 2021.
6-7:45pm Eastern / 5-6:45pm Central / 4-5:45pm Mountain / 3-4:45pm Pacific
(Other locations use time zone converter.)

CLICK HERE to Register

ADVERTISING

UPCOMING EVENTS

ADD AN EVENT

Are you hosting an event in the Synod that will be of interest to Insights’ readers?

To add an event listing email us your event details. A full list of events can be found on our Events page.

Scroll to Top